impossible dreams

Last night the junior class council planned a bonfire complete with s’mores and apple cider (the latter of which, to be honest, was the only reason I went).  Toward the end of the night, as the crowd was slowly dispersing, I broke away from my friends to stand near the fire.  As I was standing there, the guy next to me started talking to me.  But it wasn’t one of those “are you having fun?  Isn’t the weather nice?  Do you like bonfires?” kind of awkward conversations.  He asked my name then asked me, “If you could do anything at all without any consequences whatsoever, what would you do?”  My first reaction was, “This is kinda weird.  I don’t even know this guy.”  But I answered his question and, as he continued to prompt me with more questions, getting me to give a more complete answer, I found myself having a good conversation with a stranger.  By the end of it, this guy knew some things about me that most of my friends don’t know.  Not because they’re secrets, but simply because no one has ever asked.

I’ve been thinking about that conversation ever since.  It was a mere 5-10 minutes of me just talking about my impossible dreams but it was one of the highlights of my night.  It made me realize how little my friends know about me and how little I know of them, not because we’re keeping secrets but simply because we don’t ask.  I’m always so caught up in my own little world–my schoolwork and struggles and fears–that I rarely invest time in such seemingly pointless conversations.  But this is what life is made of–impossible dreams and our timid steps to recreate them in reality.  Sometimes those dreams are my escape and sometimes they’re my motivation but they are part of me.  And I’m not the only one.  We all have our own strange and impossible dreams yet, even though they reveal so much about who we are, few people know about them.  Simply because no one has ever asked.

When this guy was asking me about my dreams, asking “why?” and “what would you do then?”, he wasn’t just talking to fill the silence or pass the time.  He was genuinely trying to get to know me; he wanted to hear my answers.  In fact, he didn’t talk about himself once.  He just listened.  That’s something I don’t do enough of.  It turns out that this short and unimportant conversation wasn’t so unimportant after all.

 

Along those lines, here are some interesting tidbits I’ve discovered over the last couple weeks:

six running trails across the country–I would love to explore the country via running trails!

These oven mitts are the cleverest thing I’ve seen in a while.

Nerdy jewelry–what could be better?

If someone buys me this shirt or this shirt, I will wear it for my half marathon in a couple weeks.

Standard

2 thoughts on “impossible dreams

Leave a Reply

